If you’d like to explore some of Richmond’s social history, why not visit an exciting new exhibition, ‘Queen’s Road: 500 Years of History’ which has recently opened at the Museum of Richmond (Second Floor, Old Town Hall, Whittaker Avenue, Richmond, TW9 1TP).
The location of the University’s Richmond campus, Queen’s Road was once a muddy track through the Richmond countryside. Discover the fascinating history of this road, including farmland owned by Tudor courtiers, a pest house for plague sufferers, grand Victorian developments and innovative social housing.
Uncover Richmond’s long forgotten windmill, see inside the designs of stunning Dutch style houses, and meet some of the road’s notable characters from Comptroller of the Tudor Royal household to a World War Two refugee and notable journalist.
The exhibition will be accompanied by a series of events including an evening talk by Charles Pineles in collaboration with the Richmond Local History Society on the social history of Queen’s Road on Monday 9th March. There are also Curator’s Tours at the Museum on the 15th February and 14th March at 2pm and a series of local history family workshops taking place.
Entrance is free and the Queen’s Road exhibition runs until 5th September 2020.
Opening times for the Museum are Tue-Fri 11am to 5pm and Saturday (April-September) 11am to 5pm/ Saturday (October-March) 11am to 4pm.
Enquiries 0208 332 1141 or email@example.com
Reproduced with permission from London Borough of Richmond upon Thames Borough Art Collection, Orleans House Gallery: LDORL 03203
The print of the Wesleyan Institute was done by Wrightson in c. 1855, reproduced with permission from London Borough of Richmond upon Thames Borough Local Studies Library & Archive: LCP 173